Creating Assembly Configurations

When a new assembly workspace is opened a Configurations group will be displayed in the Design Explorer as the first category, similar to part workspaces. Config<1>  will be the first Configuration listed and every part will contain at least one configuration.

How to Create Configurations

1.  Right-click the Configurations group in the Design Explorer and select the New Configuration... option. Alternatively, select the New Configuration tool in the Assembly tab

2. The New Configuration dialog box will be displayed.

3. Enter a name for the Configuration. This name will be displayed in the Design Explorer

4. Select an existing Configuration to Copy From:. The Lock properties from the chosen Configuration will populate the Lock properties of the dialog box. They can be modified as desired however. 

5. Set desired Lock properties. Select All will enable all properties. The following table describes each lock function.

6. Enable the Active option to make the new configuration the active one. 

7. Click the OK button to create the new configuration which will be displayed in the Design Explorer. In addition, when a second configuration is created, the part name in the Design Explorer and in the workspace title bar will change to "Assembly Name - Active Configuration Name".

 

NOTE: If only a single configuration exists the part name in the Design Explorer and in the workspace title bar will only read "Assembly Name".

 

Helpful Notes on Design Configurations in Assemblies

  • All configurations have the same set of constraints. A constraint added to one configuration will be added to all configurations. However, constraint values are parameters that can differ between configurations.

  • All configurations have a common set of available components. A component deleted from one configuration will be deleted from all configurations but components can be suppressed in individual configurations.

  • Configurations are listed in the order that they were created in the Design Explorer

  • An active configuration cannot be deleted. If only a single configuration exists it will be the default active configuration by default and the Delete option will be disabled.

  • If configurations are changed in an assembly while editing an exploded view, that configuration will open in an exploded view the next time it is opened.



Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.